More Hero Arts: My Monthly Hero June 2017 + Download

I just couldn’t resist turning the safari animals in the June 2017 Hero Arts My Monthly Hero card kit into animal crackers!

IMG_4486

I created the circus wagon using the drawing tools in MS Powerpoint, then printed it on my laser printer (see bottom of this post for a PDF download of this image).

The font I used is a free TruType font named Circus (how appropriate)! I printed the image on my laser printer, then colored with Copics and fussy cut it out. The wagon bars were a pain to cut, so I ended up lopping them off entirely and using thin strips of black cardstock in their place.

I stamped the animals from the kit onto Bristol cardstock using Distress Ink in Antique Linen – which turns out is the perfect animal cracker base color :). I used my Misti to stamp multiple times to get a smooth stamp.  Then I used Copic markers (E31 and E33) to shade the images and give them that “puffy” look that real animal crackers have.  I let my Brother ScanNCut cut these critters out because I didn’t want that white border that the dies included with the kit would leave (although I like that look sometimes, just not for this project).

For the background, I used a Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangle to cut a panel from Bristol cardstock.  I then very lightly applied Distress Ink in Tumbled Glass and Antique Linen.  I finished the background with a little Copic shading in warm greys under the wheels.  I then backed the entire front panel with a bright red cardstock before attaching it to my card base.

Now, I have a craving for animal crackers…..

IMG_4489

 

Supplies


  • Hero Arts June 2017 My Monthly Hero stamps
  • Strathmore Bristol cardstock (panel and animals); Neenah Solar White card stock (base): red accent paper
  • Copic Markers
  • Distress Ink: Antique Linen, Tumbled Glass
  • Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangle dies

Download


Here’s a PDF version of the circus wagon, if you’d like to make this card yourself!

AnimalCrackerWagon

 

One thought on “More Hero Arts: My Monthly Hero June 2017 + Download

Leave a Reply

