Hero Arts: June 2017 My Monthly Hero

I’m having so much fun with the June 2017 My Monthly Hero card kit from Hero Arts. The blog hop was great inspiration, and I copied a few of the designs outright!  But, I wanted to share a few cards that were a bit different.

IMG_4469

Each of these cards got a background that was stamped with the add-on Bold Tribal print stamp and Distress Oxide ink (in Peeled Paint, Vintage Photo, and Fired Brick).

The giraffe card maybe my favorite of this bunch.  I used a The Crafter’s Workshop stencil (the 12×12 Organic Matter) because I thought it sort of looked like a giraffe’s markings.  I masked portions of the stencil off, and inked it on Bristol paper with Antique Linen Distress Ink.  The rest of the panel was stamped with Distress Oxide inks (using my Misti!) in Peeled Paint and Walnut Stain.

IMG_4472 (2)

For the lion card, I die cut the sun shape from heavy scrap cardstock and used it as a stencil.  I inked a Bristol panel with Fossilized Amber and Spiced Marmalade Distress ink to create the sun set.  I also die cut a tree from the cork included in the kit with the add-on tree die.  The images and sentiment were stamped with Distress Oxide in Walnut Stain.

IMG_4471

For the elephant card, I created the sunset by masking off the bottom portion of a Bristol panel, then blended Distress Ink in Fossilized Amber and Spiced Marmalade.  I stamped the large tree with Distress Oxide in Fired Brick.  The smaller tree was stamped in Distress Ink in Tea Dye and Antique Linen.  The smaller tree was stamped second, but it looks like it is behind the larger one.  Love how those Distress Oxides stay on top!! The sentiment and elephants were stamped with Distress Oxide in Walnut Stain.

IMG_4473

Each of the white panels was die cut with a Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangle die, backed with accent card stock, then affixed to the stamped tribal print background.  I used a dark kraft card stock for all the card bases.

IMG_4480

Supplies


  • Hero Arts My Monthly Hero June 2017 card kit
  • Hero Arts Tribal Stripes Bold Print stamp
  • Hero Arts Thorn Tree and Grasses die
  • Strathmore Bristol card stock; dark kraft card stock, Accent card stock in dark brown, yellow-green
  • Distress Ink: Fossilized Amber, Spiced Marmalade, Antique Linen, Tea Dye
  • Distress Oxide Ink: Peeled Paint, Fired Brick, Vintage Photo, Walnut Stain
  • Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangle dies
  • The Crafter’s Workshop Organic Matter Stencil (12×12)
  • Misti stamping tool
One thought on “Hero Arts: June 2017 My Monthly Hero

Leave a Reply

