Did Someone Say Cake! Magic Color Slider

Today I’m sharing a birthday card for my niece – she luuuvvvvvssss cake, so the theme of the card was a given.  And, I decided to give a magic color slider a try.  It just so happens that the cake stamp from the Concord and 9th Eat Cake and Celebrate fits just perfectly in the Simon Says Stamp Magic Slider die channel.  Yay!!!

Before I started, I watched Kristina Werner’s excellent video tutorial on how to use the dies.  You can find her blog post/video here.    I simplified her method a bit, since my image wouldn’t be overlapping the window area.  After cutting/folding my white card stock, I used the SSS die to cut the window then backed it with clear acetate.  I used my Misti to stamp the cake image both on the inside of the folded card (Memento Tuxedo Black ink), and then on top of the acetate (Stayz On ink).  I then die cut the slider “channels” and assembled the mechanism.  Took a bit of time, but now that I know how to do it future projects will be quicker!    I also used a Sharpie and white gel pen to add the “pull” on top of the slider tab.

The sentiment was printed on my laser printer  – I did this before I cut/folded the slider panel!  The cute critters are from Mama Elephant’s Party animal set.  I colored these, as well as the cake with Copic markers, added them to the slider card front along with a few enamel dots, and we are ready for cake!

My free wordpress account doesn’t allow for videos, so if you want to see the card in “action”, head on over to my Instagram account!

IMG_4446

IMG_4443

IMG_4444

Supplies


  • Neenah Solar White cardstock, teal accent paper, acetate
  • Concord and 9th Eat Cake and Celebrate stamps
  • Mama Elephant Party Animals stamp set
  • Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black, Stayz On black
  • Copic markers
  • Assorted enamel dots
Leave a Reply

