Tim Holtz Unicorn Crazy Bird Shaker

Okay, I really need to hide the Tim Holtz Crazy Bird stamp set from myself.  I just have to keep making them….. This card is for my sister’s birthday.  She also luvs the crazy birds AND unicorns – so, I had to do it.  I had NO choice 🙂  Plus, I wanted to make a unicorn cake for her, so the card went with the theme.

unicorn collage

To make the unicorn bird for the card, I masked a portion of her head off before stamping (I used post-it notes), then drew in her horn and mane.  I colored with Copics, and added some Wink of Stella and gold gel pen.

The background was made by ink blending over a mask cut with the Lawn Fawn Puffy Cloud Border dies. I used Distress Inks in Worn Lipstick, Dried Marigold, Twisted Citron, Tumbled Glass, and Shaded Lilacs.  I printed the sentiment on my laser printer using a font called Magnolia Sky.

I used Spellbinders Basic Circles dies to make the shaker card base, front, and frame. And, I should have cut the foam that is popping up the acetate a bit thinner – you can see it here in the picture (not as noticeable in person…).  It’s always amazing the details (or should I say imperfections) I see once I view the photos!!

IMG_4328

IMG_4329

And, here’s a pic of the birthday girl with her cake (and her daughter!).  She loved the card, the cake, and all the unicorn gifts!!

IMG_4365

Supplies


  • Tim Holtz mini Crazy Birds stamps
  • Spellbinders Basic Circles
  • Lawn Fawm Puffy Clouds Border dies and Simple Puffy Clouds dies
  • Distress Ink: Worn Lipstick, Dried Marigold, Twisted Citron, Tumbled Glass, Shaded Lilac
  • Copic markers: C1, C3, RV04, RV21
  • Neenah Solar White base and front; clear acetate for shaker window
  • Gold gel pen
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
  • Assorted sequins, glitter, seed beads
One thought on “Tim Holtz Unicorn Crazy Bird Shaker

  1. So cute and funny. I love the background behind the plastic and the crazy bird which here is even more crazy 🙂 Thank you for joining Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

