SSS Designer Spotlight: Got Your Number

mon-designerspotlight-header_zpsb551ce83

Wow!  I can’t believe it’s been a month already.  I’ve certainly enjoyed the ride, and thanks again for your kind words.

newchallenge

Now onto this week’s challenge: “We’ve Got Your Number”.  I was in an art journal sort of mood and decided to make my least favorite numbers – “age” and “weight” – cheerful, fun, and colorful!

IMG_4093

Background


For the background, I started by applying some gesso thru a Faber-Castell number stencil (from the Lettering Stencil set).  I applied Dylusions paint (Bubblegum Pink, Squeezed Orange, and London Blue) with a blending tool over the gesso – I love how it gives a ghosted look.  Then, I used the same paint colors and a few stencils to create some layered interest:

  • The Crafter’s Workshop Stencils: Mini Tiny Circles (one of my favs)
  • Dina Wakley Stencil: Mini Favorites
  • Tim Holtz: Measured Stencil

Here’s a picture of my background at this stage. Truth be told, I wasn’t 100% thrilled, but I was determined not to give up on it (I do this too often).

IMG_4058

Focal Image


I thought a silhouette-look would be fun, but didn’t have a stencil/mask.  So, I stamped an image from a Dina Wakley stamp set on scrap paper and created a few different sizes with my scanner/copier, to use as a mask.  I painted Dylusions Black Marble paint with a blending tool over my masked background.  I then used my white gel pen to doodle and add in my words of wisdom  :).  Here’s a picture at this stage.

IMG_4084

Finishing Touches


I decided my focal girl needed some friends, so I painted the other girls I had scanned/copied, dabbed on some paint, stenciled a few numbers, cut off their left arms (ouch), and adhered the girls to the journal. I also cut out some numbers on my Brother ScanNCut, painted them and glued them in random areas on the background.  If you don’t have one of these machines, there are several excellent number dies in the SSS store (I like the SSS Big Numbers dies).

I created a bit of shadowing around the elements with a Distress Crayon in Hickory Smoke, and a black Sharpie.  I also added some doodles and dots with white and black gel pens.  To finish things off, I used my black Distress Crayon to create a smudge around the edges of my pages, and added white lines all the way around – to mimic a ruler/tape measure.

Here’s my finished piece, along with a few closeups of the details!

IMG_4093

IMG_4089

IMG_4088

Show Us Your Number


Thanks so much for stopping by!  Remember to link your “number” creations for a chance to win a $50 voucher to the Simon Says Stamp store (the happiest place on the web!)

sss-50-voucher-banner

Tools and Supplies


Here’s a listing of the supplies and tools I used in my project:

sss_blinky

 

 

10 thoughts on “SSS Designer Spotlight: Got Your Number

  1. Wow, Amy, this is amazing! I love the colors and design and the message. It’s been so fun having you with us this month. I’m really going to miss seeing your amazing talent on the challenge. I’m so glad you joined us and I look forward to continuing to follow your talent. You’re a mixed media star in my book!!

    Cathie ♥

    Like

  2. What a wonderful sentiment and beautiful focus for your project! I love that idea of not measuring ourselves with things that don’t matter. Great uplifting piece of art! I love the vibrant colors and how you’ve added lovely details with the white. It’s been such a treat having you be a Guest Designer and I’ve enjoyed seeing your projects so much!

    Like

  3. Awesome background and love the bright colors, Amy! Love the dotted outline and what a perfect saying! It has been such a treat to have you with us this month, and looking forward to further creative adventures! hugs, Maura

    Like

  4. Absolutely gorgeous journal page Amy, the colors are so vibrant and I love the whole design of this, you are super talented and it has been a great pleasure to have you along with us 😍❤️

    Thanks so much for everything xx
    Luv
    Lols x x x

    Like

  5. Wow…Amy, this is spectacular and the colours are so vibrant and striking! It’s been wonderful seeing all your work and creativity over the last month and thanks so much for sharing and for joining us as a guest at Simon Says Stamp! ❤

    Like

  6. This is so stunning! I love that colorful and vibrant background with silhouettes. So cool. Thank you so much for being our guest designer this month, I have really enjoyed seeing all your gorgeous project and great techniques.

    Like

  7. Wow! I’m in awe! this background is fantastic, love so much this bold color palette! fab design too! It was a pleasure tho have you with us this month! Thanks for sharing your art! barbara

    Like

Leave a Reply

