SSS: Animation Card Kit

So, I got happy mail today!  Specifically, the SSS May 2017 card kit with the new animation stamps!  I couldn’t wait to try them out.  Here’s my first attempts:

IMG_4262 (2)

I tried two different techniques with the animation grid included in the kit.

  1. The butterfly card has the stamped image sliding behind the animation grid (the grid is affixed to the white sentiment box).
  2. The smiley face card has the animation grid sliding, while the stamped image is affixed to the back of the card.

I think it works about the same either way.  For each I used foam tape to create sort of a channel for the piece that was sliding.  Sorry, but this free WordPress account doesn’t support videos – so, if you want to see the cards in action, head on over to my Instagram account: @amylovesink

A few things I experimented with:

  • Stamping the images in something other than black ink.  Nope, didn’t work with the animation grid included in the kit.
  • Stamping black images on colored cardstock.  This “sort of” worked, but it was really difficult to see.  You may want to try this on really pale cardstock – you might like it.
  • Making my own animation grid.  I was so hoping this would work….. I took a piece of clear acetate and drew lines with a Sharpie (and a ruler) so it looked like the animation grid.  I tried a black Sharpie and a green one (I REALLY wanted a green animated cactus).  The black sort-of worked, but not nearly as good as the animation grid included in the kit.  The green grid, nope.  I think the grid needs to line up with the lines in the stamped image to give a good effect, and I wasn’t precise enough with my lines….. perhaps I’ll try this again someday when I’m REALLY BORED….

IMG_4259 (2)

IMG_4257 (2)

Supplies


  • Uchi’s Design Animation Stamps/Grid for the Simon Says Stamp May 2017 card kit
  • Illustrated Faith designer papers (included in the SSS kit)
  • SSS Doll Pink cardstock (included in the May kit); SSS Bright Yellow cardstock
  • Neenah Solar White cardstock (base); black cardstock as accent
  • Hero Arts Lia Griffith Love Bug clear stamps (butterfly image)
  • Tim Holtz Crazy Talk stamps (sentiment)
  • SSS Stitched Rectangle dies
  • Cottage Cutz Stitched Circle dies
  • 3/4″ circle punch (used to create pull tabs)
2 thoughts on “SSS: Animation Card Kit

  1. Just saw your card in the Card kit e-mail that SSS sent out. I am so loving your glasses card. I had been wondering if I could create my own animated grid/card. Wouldn’t that be fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

