Watching You

Here’s an art journal piece that I created with some new mixed media supplies I picked up at Michael’s.  They are from Jane Davenport – I got some watercolor pens (she calls them Mermaid Markers), some fun washi tape, and a small watercolor palette.   The washi tape inspired me – and I wanted to create a big eye out of all those small ones….

IMG_4233 (2)

I started by sketching out an eye shape in my art journal in pencil, and once I was happy with it, I used a black Micron pen to set it.  I used a circle die as a spacer for the iris of the eye (top image, below).  I used Jane’s Mermaid Markers to lay down some color – the camouflage effect was created by dropping in some white watercolor (from the Jane Davenport Neutrals watercolor palette) into the wet color.  The bottom image, below, is how my layout looked at this stage.

watching you collage

Next, I used some of the fun washi tape!  I layed it down in strips on white copier paper, then cut a circle out with the same die I used as a placeholder for my iris.  I also die cut a small circle out of scrap black cardstock and added a highlight to it with a white pencil. Then, I glued both of them to my journal with Distress Collage medium.

IMG_4229

To finish things off, I used black and brown Distress Crayons to add shading and to edge the pages.  I also used my Faber Castell big brush pens in brown and black to add shading around the iris and pupil.  Final steps were to add “Watching You” with a black Sharpie and to outline in with a white gel pen. I also to added a few black and white dots to the piece.

IMG_4234

Supplies


  • Dylusions small art journal
  • Jane Davenport Mermaid Markers (I used Siren, Byron Bay, Deep Sea, Pirate’s Gold)
  • Jane Davenport Neutral Watercolor palette
  • Jane Davenport washi tape
  • Distress Crayons (Vintage Photo, Walnut Stain, Black Soot)
  • Faber Castell big brush markers (Nougat, Black)
  • Signo white gel pen
  • Black Sharpie
  • Distress Collage Medium
Leave a Reply

