SSS Designer Spotlight: Hip Hop Collage

mon-designerspotlight-header_zpsb551ce83

It’s my second week as a guest designer for the SSS Monday Challenge.  Thanks so much for your kind words and encouragement last week.  It is much appreciated!

newchallenge

This week’s challenge is Hip Hop, and I’m going full-on BUNNY!  My first thought was to use the SSS March 2017 card kit – which I love.  The stamps, the papers, the mousse – everything was so great.  But, I made a ton of cards with the set already and was on cuteness overload.  I wanted something a little more freestyle…

IMG_4083

Funny Bunny


Have a mentioned I can’t draw?  Really, I’m rotten at just sketching something from thin air. But, I’m a great mimic, so to the web I went in search of funny bunnies.  I found a few I liked and voila! – my bunny is alive.  I have a difficult time drawing circles, so I typically use circle dies as templates – then I just connect shapes with a pencil.  For example, the bunny head is a circle with the bottom sort of truncated – and his nose area is an upside down heart. I didn’t think to take a photo of my work in progress (sorry).  Once I liked my basic sketch, I outlined it with a marker and erased all the pencil marks.  For this piece, I didn’t want a harsh black line, so I used a Distress Marker in Frayed Burlap.  I then colored my bunny with Prismacolor pencils and fussy cut it out.  The images below show my outline drawing, and the colored image.

rabbit drawing collage
Foreground Elements


To make the eggs, I started by scribbling some gelatos and wetting them with a paintbrush to get a base layer of color.  I did this on regular copier paper because I knew I would be layering the eggs and didn’t want the bumpy look of layered cardstock.  After heat setting the gelato base colors, I used a Tim Holtz stencil, Splatters, and some Distress Ink to add some painterly splotches.

IMG_3987

I used my Brother ScanNCut to cut egg shapes in a variety of sizes.  I felt a bit guilty about this, like I was being lazy, when I remembered – that’s why I bought it in the first place! If I didn’t have a machine, I would have used one of the eggs from the SSS March 2017 kit as a stencil.

Now that I had my eggs, I needed some grass.  I put layer of Distress Inks (Old Paper and Cracked Pistachio) on copier paper then hand cut (yes!  I said hand cut!) random grass shapes. To add some dimension, I used my Faber-Castell Big Brush Pens in Permanent Green, May Green, and Light Yellow to add some grass blades.

My funny bunny needed a sidekick.  I chose one of the cute little chicks from the SSS Stacking Animals set.  The chick has the perfect expression for this scene.  I stamped him using Ranger Archival Ink in Watering Can on copier paper, colored him with Prismacolor pencils, and fussy cut him out.  I think he really looks like he is saying “what the …..”.

IMG_3995

Background


For my background, I used a blending tool to lay down Distress Inks: Old Paper, Cracked Pistachio, Scattered Straw, Worn Lipstick, and Tumbled Glass.  I sprtized it with water and let it air dry.

IMG_3996

Collage Assembly and Finishing Touches


To assemble all my elements, I started with my Bunny.  I used my scoring board to score the portions of the bunny that would be in the fold of the journal before gluing him down with Distress Collage Medium. I then started layering the eggs, and a few sprigs of glass using the collage medium both underneath and on top of the image.  I finished up by adding my chickie and the large grassy area at the bottom.  Once everything was dry, I used a Faber-Castell big brush pen in Cool Grey to shade the areas where the eggs overlapped, and around the character images.  Because I used the collage medium, there was a little play time with the markers, and I was able to use a damp paintbrush to soften the shadows.  Don’t try this without some sort of medium applied – the ink in the markers won’t budge if you use them on dry paper.  I also used the green FC pens to deepen some of the color at the bottom of the grass.

For the sentiment ….. uggghhh…. what an ordeal!  I wrote out Happy Easter with a black marker directly on the journal page.  It looked horrible – the color was to harsh and my lettering was terrible.  Lettering is a skill I need to practice. A lot. I tried to remedy it with a white gel pen, but it still looked rotten. Gesso and white paint wouldn’t cover it, so I ended up cutting out some cloud shapes and collaging them over the writing.  Then I added layers of ink and a sentiment from the Tim Holtz Crazy Talk set. I’m still not in love with my fix  – but hey, it’s just an art journal!!!  So, it is what it is.  And, I am going to be okay with that.  Really I will. Eventually.

To finish things off, I added a paint splotch and drips at the end of the bunny’s brush (copier paper, prisma color pencils, and collage medium), added a few mini doodles with my white gel pen, and smudged some Distress Crayons around the edges of my journal pages (Vintage Photo, Hickory Smoke).

This piece is a wrap!  Here’s a few close-ups.

IMG_4082

IMG_4080

Thanks for hopping by and I hope everyone has a wonderful Easter!

Your Turn and a Chance to Win


sss-50-voucher-banner

Now it’s your turn.  Show us what you came up with for today’s Hip Hop Theme.  You could win a $50 voucher to the Simon Says Stamp store!

Supplies


Here’s a list of the supplies I used for my piece:

sss_blinky

 

 

16 thoughts on “SSS Designer Spotlight: Hip Hop Collage

  1. I can’t tell you how much I’m enjoying your projects, Amy! This one put a huge smile on my face and made me giggle out loud. I absolutely love it! It’s so colorful and fun and that bunny is hilarious, cute and amazing!

    Cathie ♥

    Like

  2. I absolutely LOVE this Amy!! The bunny is super cute awesome adorable and I love the background and the whole scene!! I am going to have to CASE, this, 😍❤❤❤

    Luv
    Lols x x x

    Like

  3. Amy, this is amazing!! Love the bright colors and your bunny and chick are the best! Have to laugh at those bunny eyes, I think they could hypnotize. Gorgeous eggs, and thanks for sharing all the tips on how you did this – brilliant! Happy Easter! Maura

    Like

  4. Wow! What an incredible journal page, this is fantastic and I adore the scene you’ve created and that bunny is just so, so funny…I love him! Happy Easter… 🙂

    Like

  5. Uhhh, you can’t draw?? Newsflash! You are a fantastic artist!!! I love anything that involves sketching and you nailed this even if you call yourself no more than a copycat! I love the whimsy and bright colors. You did a remarkable job and this made me smile!

    Like

Leave a Reply

