SSS Easter I: Some Bunny

I have several cards to share that are made with the Simon Says Stamp March 2017 card kit.  I think this is one of my favorite kits – everything was spot on!  For inspiration, I used a post on on the SSS blog that used colored pencils on kraft paper – soft but vibrant at the same time.  That seems perfect for Easter, so I thought I’d give it a try with the card kit!

IMG_4107 (2)

I stamped my images on kraft paper with Memento ink, using masking on the eggs and bunny.  Then I started coloring with my Prismacolor pencils.  Just like Copics, I used multiple shades of the the same color families to give the images some dimension and shading.  The coloring sort of muted out the eyebrows and eyes – so I tried to darken them with a fine point Sharpie.  You’ll notice on the bunny that I made one of the eyebrows a bit too bushy (oops!! 🙂  ).

For the sentiments, I heat embossed with white powder and added the sub-sentiment with black Memento ink.   I cut out panels with a SSS stitched rectangle die, and then trimmed it out with white cardstock.

It was hard to choose which of the cute Echo Park papers from the SSS kit to use as backgrounds!   I selected the sweet pink floral and chevron-striped multi color papers, trimmed them out, and attached them to white card bases.  I used foam tape to pop up the front panels.

To finish things off, I stamped hearts (from the SSS Some Bunny set) on white scrap paper, colored them with my pencils, and used some Glossy Accents to give them some shine.

IMG_4104 (2)

IMG_4105 (2)

Here’s one final card I made with the kit.  Who doesn’t like a chocolate bunny in their Easter basket?  Mine are colored with Copic markers and the bite mark is courtesy of a Sizzix scalloped circle die.   The patterned paper is from Echo Park – also included in the kit.

IMG_4106 (3)

Supplies

 


Here are the supplies for the pencil on kraft cards:

  • Neenah Solar White card base and trim
  • Neenah Desert Storm card front
  • Echo Park Celebrate Easter papers
  • Simon Says Stamp Some Bunny stamp set
  • Memento Ink in Tuxedo Black
  • Prismacolor colored pencils
  • Hero Arts white embossing powder
  • Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangle dies
  • Ranger Glossy Accents

Here are the supplies for the chocolate bunny card:

  • Neenah Solar White card front and base
  • Echo Park Celebrate Easter paper
  • Simon Says Stamp Some Bunny stamp set
  • Memento Ink in Tuxedo Black
  • Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangle and Scallop Stitches dies
  • Sizzix Scallop Circles dies
  • Copic Markers
  • Ranger Glossy Accents (hearts)
Leave a Reply

