Accidental Background

Here’s a super quick thank you card I made with an “accidental” background.

Details


Some of my favorite background happen purely by accident.  This one was a resulted from playing around with a few new colors of Paper Artsy Infusions: A Bit Jaded, Violet Storm, and Sage (which, I think is my favorite).  I sprinkled them on a piece of dry, scrap watercolor paper and spritzed them with water.  I let the paper air dry, thinking I would probably just toss it.  But I really liked the ethereal feel to it – especially after I cropped it.  I think I like accidental backgrounds because they typically have more “air” or white-space.  It seems like when I intentionally make a background, I feel the need to fill it up entirely with color.

I cut out a panel using a Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangle die, then backed it with some black and sea glass card stock.

For a focal image, I chose a flower from the Inkadinkado Meadow set.  I used my Misti to stamp both the image and the sentiment.  I did this because whenever I hand stamp directly on a background that I really like, I totally botch it.  Every time.  When I’m stamping an image I’m going to cut out – this never happens.  Why???  For the sentiment, I used one from the Hero Arts Many Thanks stamp set.  Both were stamped with Memento Tuxedo Black Ink.

Supplies


Here’s a list of supplies I used:

  • Card stock: Neenah Solar White (base), Watercolor front; black and sea glass card stock (as backing)
  • Stamps: Inkadinkado Meadow; Hero Arts Many Thanks
  • Ink/Color: Paper Artsy Infusions in A Bit Jaded, Violet Storm, and Sage; Memento Tuxedo Black
  • Dies: Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles

img_3779

One thought on “Accidental Background

  1. Your card is gorgeous! The colors on the background and the simple, yet elegant flower against it is beautiful. Thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.

    Cathie ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

